For My People

This is for my people

who are the teenagers of America

who are considered children and adults at the same time.

Expected to work 20 hours a week

While going to school 7 hours a day, and maintaining a good GPA

Along with staying active,

and keeping up on personal hygiene.

Don’t forget 8 hours of sleep a night

While keeping good relationships with friends, family,

and your boyfriend/girlfriend.

How are we supposed to do it all?

Going to parties, fighting with our parents

Football games, going out to eat, school dances,

spring break, junk food,

we want it all.

Lulu lemon, Nike, Hunters, Victoria’s Secret.

Fake nails, fake tan, dyed hair.

Made up girls, ten pounds of makeup

Who is dressed the best?

For my people that need to know something;

We are almost done with this.

We are on our way to something bigger and better

than anything we are leaving behind.

Let us never forget this time in our life,

where we shared all the same pressures.

It gets better, my people.

4 thoughts on “For My People

  1. I love this post so much! I love where you said “for the people that need to know; we are almost done with this. we are on our way to something bigger and better” because in high school it is easy to lose sight of how much life we have left.

    Like

  2. Dear writer,

    I have graded this post and provided detailed feedback on the Google Doc below.

    You will only be able to access it if you are logged into your school account. This protects it from other users seeing it.

    Feel free to write back to me directly on the Google Doc if you have clarifying questions or comments.

    Thank you for allowing me into your writing world!

    Mrs. Keskes

    https://docs.google.com/a/hartlandschools.us/document/d/1fSMqjFgAfCez2juotx5bLDtJIgd_yEkzuQghF8EbocM/edit?usp=sharing

    Like

Leave a comment